Lab Members

Colin McLaren, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow

colinmc@nipissingu.ca

Dillon Collett
MSc Candidate

dcollett843@my.nipissingu.ca

Justin Sackaney
MEd Candidate

jjsackaney396@my.nipissingu.ca

Kieran Peltier
MSc Candidate

kpeltier783@my.nipissingu.ca

Kaylee Flynn
MSc Candidate

keflynn988@my.nipissingu.ca

Mohammad Hadi
MSc Candidate

mrhadi627@my.nipissingu.ca

Cameron Branch
MSc Candidate

cbbranch333@my.nipissingu.ca

Mathieu Simard
MEd Candidate

mgsimard768@my.nipissingu.ca

Achuthan Shanmugaratnam
Undergraduate Honours Student

ashanmugaratnam284@my.nipissingu.ca

Previous Trainees

2021

Jordan Herbison
PhD Dissertation: Understanding the Complexity and Nuance of Social Identity in Youth Sport Using Novel Ecological Momentary Assessment Methods

2020

Rachel Van Woezik
Masters Thesis: Real versus Ideal: Toward a Deeper Understanding of How Coaches Gain Knowledge

2019

Jordan Sutcliffe
Masters Thesis: Investigating the Relations Between Personal and Social Identity on Youth Sport Parent Behaviour

Alisha Laciak
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Sampling and Specializing in Youth Sport: Exploring Social Identities and Developmental Experiences

2018

Rachel Van Woezik    
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Next one up! Exploring How Coaches Manage Team Dynamics Following Injury

Jordan Cascagnette   
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Group Dynamics in an Elite Nordic Ski Team

2017

Alex Benson  
Post-Doctoral Fellow: Socialization Processes in Youth Sport

Laura McKenzie
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: The Innuendo Effect: Athletes’ Perception of Prospective Coaches

Lauren Taylor
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Socialization Processes in Cross-Fit

2016

Matthew Vierimaa    
PhD Dissertation: The Influence of Peer Relationships on Positive Youth Development in Recreational Sport

Matthew McGuckin
Masters Thesis: Youth Sport Coaches’ Reflections on Leadership Behaviours During Games and Practices

2015

Zach Root
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Investigating Social Identity and Hormone Response in Combative Sports Athletes

Brogan Bailey
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Organizational Culture in CrossFit

2014

Chris Forrest  
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Evaluating Social Media as a Platform for the Implementation of a Team Building Protocol

Matt McGuckin      
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Social Influences on Return to Sport Following a Concussion in Female Amateur Ice Hockey Players

Kelsea Stewart     
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Examining the Efficacy of Team Building Using a Challenge Ropes Course in Youth Sport

2013

Dillon Richardson   
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Social Identity and Group Norms in Junior Nordic Skiers

2012

Mike Penney 
Undergraduate Honours Thesis: Group Norms in Youth Sport: Role of Group Size and Sport Type